User login

DAVID RODIGAN radio show: part four now available

The fourth episode of BBC Radio 2’s summer reggae show featuring DAVID RODIGAN is now available for download.

This week RODIGAN looks back to the summer of 1976 when a new British reggae band had just signed to Island Records.

The band was ASWAD, residents of London’s Ladbroke Grove, and their debut single “Back to Africa” topped the British reggae charts.

Other music on the show includes 1960s Jamaican queen of rocksteady PHYLLIS DILLON and DESMOND DEKKER's first UK chart-topper.

The tracks played on the show are:

  • The Silvertones – “Smile” ( Studio 1()
  • Bunny Wailer – “Fighting Against Conviction” (Solomonic)
  • Toots & The Maytals – “Pressure Drop” (Trojan)
  • Kashief Lindo — “Is It All Over Now” (Heavy Beat)
  • Aswad — “Back To Africa” (Island)
  • Phyllis Dillon — “Don't Stay Away” (Trojan)
  • Two Seven Clash — “Culture feat Joseph Hill” (Live Peel Session)
  • Sanchez — “Longing To Come Home” (VP)
  • Al Brown & Skin, Flesh & Bones — “Here I Am Baby, Come And Take Me” (Trojan)
  • Dawn Penn — “No No No” (Big Beat)
  • Prince Buster — “Madness” (Big Beat)
  • Little Roy — “More From A Little” (Pharos)
  • Desmond Dekker & The Aces — “Israelites” (Trojan)
  • Tarrus Riley — “Stress Silent Murderer” (Stars)
  • Harry J. All Stars — “The Liquidator” (Trojan)
  • The Tennors — “Ride Your Donkey” (Fab)

Visit the BBC Radio 2 website for the full show.