User login

BBC reggae show: part one now available

Part one of DAVID RODIGAN’s new reggae series on BBC Radio 2 is now available to listen to, showcasing RODIGAN’s love for all types of reggae music from the 60s to the present day.

You can listen to the full episode on the BBC website.

Part one includes the 1960s "Rocksteady" anthem by ALTON ELLIS, along with BOB MARLEY and THE WAILERS' "Roots Rock Reggae", and current hits from BERES HAMMOND, BITTY MCLEAN and TARRUS RILEY.

Music played on the show includes:

  • Bob Marley “Roots Rock Reggae” (Island Records)
  • Tarrus Riley “Young Hearts” (Peckings)
  • Lord Creator “Kingston Town” (Trojan)
  • Bitty McLean “A Step Closer” (Silent River)
  • Sanchez “Won’t Surrender” (VP)
  • Alton Ellis “Rocksteady” (Trojan)
  • Beres Hammond “Keeping It Real” (Heavy Beat)
  • Gregory Isaacs “Cool Down The Pace” (Live Peel Session 1982)
  • Marcia Griffiths “Tell Me Now” (Studio One)
  • Hollie Cook “That Very Night” (Mr Bongo)
  • Delroy Wilson “Dancing Mood” (Studio One)
  • The Abyssinians “Satta Massagana” (Clinch)
  • Alborosie “International Drama” (Greensleeves)
  • Bob Andy “The Sun Shines For Me” (Trojan/Dr Bird)
  • Dennis Brown “Musical Heatwave” (Trojan)

The new ten-part series airs every Thursday night at 11pm GMT.