User login

New BLACK ROOTS album details revealed: Date set for ‘On The Ground’

Sugar Shack/Nubian Records will release Bristol reggae band BLACK ROOTS’ new album On The Ground on 10 September.

The new 17-track record was recorded in Bristol last month at J & J Studios, produced by BLACK ROOTS and mixed by Loius Becket.

The full tracklisting is:

  1. I Believe
  2. Pompous Way
  3. Long Long Ago
  4. Militancy
  5. Earth Land
  6. I Am flying
  7. Slavery
  8. Oh Mama Africa
  9. Hide out
  10. On The Ground
  11. Call Me Out
  12. No Fee
  13. Struggle
  14. Landscape
  15. Without Direction
  16. Capitalism
  17. Come and Sing

It will be available in three formats: CD, vinyl and digital download.

Bristol Archive recently put out a 25th anniversary deluxe edition of All Day All Night from BLACK ROOTS.

The St Pauls band recorded the album for the Nubian label in 1985 after recruiting Neal Fraser, THE MAD PROFESSOR, for mix duties and the trombonist Vin Gordon for authentic brass weight.

BLACK ROOTS will be playing at Wowfest on the Isle Of Wight (18 August) alongside the likes of UB40, MAXI PRIEST and THE WAILERS.