User login

New BLACK ROOTS and AMJ DUB COLLECTIVE releases out now

Two new releases from Bristol reggae bands BLACK ROOTS and AMJ DUB COLLECTIVE are now available to buy via Sugar Shack/Bristol Archive Records.

For its first venture into reggae Sugar Shack has teamed up with AMJ DUB COLLECTIVE to release Sound History Volume One.

While AMJ DUB COLLECTIVE is a new project, the band members’ part in Bristol’s musical heritage goes back more than 30 years. 

Mark Spence and Andy Clarke, the band’s rhythm section, came from ZION BAND from which they progressed to legendary Bristol band RESTRICTION. Another RESTRICTION graduate, producer John Hollis, completed the trio.

For their first release they’ve called on two other former band mates Eric ‘The General’ McCarthy on MC duties and Bristol legend Rob Smith for a brace of mixes.

According to Sugar Shack the idea for these tracks came from Mark Spence who felt it was “long overdue to document in song the city’s rich heritage of sound systems, their selectors, MCs and the posses who supported them, a tribute to the reggae scene that nurtured and inspired the members of AMJ Dub Collective as well as countless others over the decades.”

The tracklisting for the new release is as follows:

Side one

  1. Sound History 1
  2. Level Vibes

Side two

  1. Sound History 2
  2. Level Dub

Sugar Shack rebranded earlier this year to concentrate on British reggae.

Bristol Archive has also put out a 25th anniversary deluxe edition of All Day All Night from BLACK ROOTS.

The Bristol band recorded the album for the Nubian label in 1985 after recruiting Neal Fraser, THE MAD PROFESSOR, for mix duties and the trombonist Vin Gordon for authentic brass weight. 

The release includes the original 12 tracks, but also six bonus cuts, featuring several dub versions and the extended 12” mix of “Pin in the Ocean” along with a booklet with many previously unpublished photos of the band.

The tracklisting is:

  1. Realize
  2. Pin In The Ocean
  3. Release the Food
  4. Freedom
  5. Poor Children
  6. Spare The Rod
  7. Conman
  8. Seeing Your Face
  9. All Day All Night
  10. Mighty Lion
  11. Suffer Me Not
  12. Childless MotherAdditional tracks:
  13. Pin In The Ocean (Extended Mix)
  14. Reality Dub
  15. Folitrickshun Dub
  16. Dub Free
  17. Face Dub
  18. Fertility Dub

BLACK ROOTS, which was formed back in 1979, is currently working on a new album that is expected to be released later this year.

The St Pauls band has one upcoming show: