User login

New BLACK SYMBOL album set for release next month

Birmingham reggae figure FATMAN has returned to the studio and will next month release the first new BLACK SYMBOL album in 30 years.

The new record, entitled Journey, is being released on CD on 27 January 2014 via Sugar Shack Records.

During the late 1970s and early 1980s FATMAN and BLACK SYMBOL helped to put the Handsworth area firmly on the reggae map with a series of singles and three albums in conjunction with other local artists, including the two volumes of Handsworth Explosion, mostly released on the band's own label.

The 10 songs on Journey are brand new and have been produced by Paul Horton for Ecks Productions.

The tracklist is:

  1. I’m Not Afraid
  2. Mama Africa
  3. Bongo man
  4. Morning Dew
  5. Journey
  6. What a Joy
  7. Nothing for the Poor
  8. Let it Shine
  9. Jah People
  10. Mr. Money Man

The original BLACK SYMBOL recordings will also see a comprehensive reissue programme by Sugar Shack’s sister label Reggae Archive Records.