User login

Newly launched KING SPINNA issues vinyl-only dub rarities

King Spinna - a brand new reggae label founded by Bob Harding and Dom Sotgiu, formerly of Blood and Fire - has launched with a vinyl-only set of dub rarities from KING TUBBY's studio.

Check out below some listening samples of the new release Dub Will Change Your Mind by BUNNY LEE & THE AGGROVATORS

According to the label website even seasoned dubheads will find themselves listening to music they never knew existed. 

“The market is saturated with albums of Bunny Lee produced dubs from King Tubby’s studio, with varying degrees of overlap” it claims, “but now here comes a record of genuine rarities never compiled on album before.”

The ‘cornerstone’ of the album consists of dub versions of four little-known DERRICK MORGAN tracks (“Teach My Daughter”, “Rasta Nah Fear”, “Under Heavy Manners” and “Pick Sense Out Of Nonsense”) plus his duet with JOHNNY CLARKE on “Behold”. 

Livening up the mix are dubs to a brace of RONNIE DAVIS tunes (“Good News” and “That’s Life”) along with versions of “Oh Jah Forgive Me” and “One And Only Lover” from CORNELL CAMPBELL (who also plays bass on “Under Heavy Manners”). 

The set is rounded out with versions of tracks by JACKIE EDWARDS, JOHNNY CLARKE, JOHN HOLT and JOY WHITE.

The album concentrates heavily on the 1975 ‘flying cymbal’ style of CARLTON ‘SANTA’ DAVIS, but there is also one track from 1974 (“Golden Rule Dub”) plus a handful from the years 1976 to 1978 including the instrumental workout “Going Home Dub”.

The album is being released initially on vinyl only in a pressing limited to 1,000 copies as well as digital downloads. Subject to demand a CD issue will follow featuring three bonus tracks. 

The track listing is as follows:

  • Dub Gospel
  • Golden Rule Dub
  • Dub Teacher
  • Idling Dub
  • Fearless Dub
  • Forgive Me Dub
  • Going Home Dub
  • Under Heavy Dub
  • Sensible Version
  • Behold Version
  • Lifetime Dub
  • Festival Of Dub
  • Dub Is Everything
  • One And Only Dub